past work

July 2012 - Inquiry into Ethnic Minority Female Unemployment

The All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Race and Community published a report on ethnic minority female unemployment following its inquiry into the issue. The inquiry took place between July and November 2012. The report, written on behalf of the APPG by Runnymede's Public Affairs Manager Vicki Butler, found that discrimination is present at every level of the recruitment process and called for more action from government in order to decrease high unemployment levels of these groups.

The inquiry gathered evidence in parliament, through written submissions and by talking to women throughout the country. Evidence received is available below. In addition a short film was made, which includes interviews on the issue with ethnic minority women around the country.

December 2011 - Meeting on Race and Sport

In December 2011, the group heard evidence from a range of speakers from the world of sport, including Sol Campbell, Luther Blissett and Paul Elliot MBE.

July 2011 - AGM with Trevor Phillips

In July 2011, the group held its AGM, where it elected a new group of officers, and was addressed by Trevor Phillips of the EHRC.

Westminster's only All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) dedicated to race equality was formally re-established at the groups AGM on 16th June 2010. Runnymede took over the secretariat for the APPG which had been inactive since 2005 at the start of 2010.

Attendees to the AGM included the then group chair Diane Abbott MP, deputy leader of the Liberal Democrats Simon Hughes MP, and Conservative peer Lord Sheikh. Former ministers David Lammy MP, Meg Hillier MP and Jim Fitzpatrick MP were also among the attendees, as well as new Conservative MPs Gavin Barwell and Richard Fuller. Thirteen parliamentarians attended in total.

May 2011 - Joint Meeting with Equalities APPGs on Reforms to the EHRC and Public Sector Equality Duty

In May 2011, the group held a joint meeting with a number of APPGs focused on equalities issues, to discuss the government's consultation on the EHRC, and proposed changes to the Equality Act.

Membership of the group June 2010 - June 2011

Group Officers

Chair: Diane Abbott MP (Labour)

Vice Chair: Lord Lester (Liberal Democrat)

Vice Chair: Lord Sheikh (Conservative)

Vice Chair: David Lammy MP (Labour)

Vice Chair: Lord Adebowale (Cross-bench)

Group Members

Lord Avebury (Liberal Democrat)

Gavin Barwell MP (Conservative)

Luciana Berger MP (Labour)

Peter Bottomley MP (Conservative)

Baroness Coussins (Cross-bench)

Lord Dholakia (Liberal Democrat)

Lord Dubs (Labour)

Jim Fitzpatrick MP (Labour)

Richard Fuller MP (Conservative)

Kate Green MP (Labour)

Meg Hillier MP (Labour)

Baroness Howells of St Davids (Labour)

Simon Hughes MP (Liberal Democrat)

Lord Hunt of Wirral (Conservative)

Lord Ouseley (Cross-bench)

Lord Parekh (Labour)

Baroness Prashar (Cross-bench)

Jonathan Reynolds MP (Labour)

Gary Streeter MP (Conservative)

Paul Uppal MP (Conservative)

Keith Vaz MP (Labour)

January 2011 - Q&A Session with Nick Herbert MP

In January 2011, the group held a Q&A session with the policing minister Nick Herbert MP. The session focused largely on government reforms to stop and search, as well as police recruitment and elected police commissioners.

October 2010 - Q&A Session with Theresa May MP

In October 2010, the group held a Q&A session with the home secretary and equalities minister Theresa May MP. The session, which was held jointly with the All Party Parliamentary Group on Equalities, focused on issues including stop and search, the Equality Act, the Equality and Human Rights Commission and discrimination in mental health.

January 2010 - APPG on Race and Community re-launched by the Runnymede Trust

The All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Race and Community was re-launched by the Runnymede Trust on Wednesday, 20 January, in the House of Commons. It was chaired by Diane Abbott MP and the group debated issues of race, equality and community cohesion.

This is not an official website of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its committees. All-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed in these webpages are those of the group.